Welcome to my life


1491773_10152137811479399_680793601_n

Wow. A new year, a new blog, a new perspective, and new goals!

My life has been interesting to say the least. While I would love to just sit down and write that autobiography, my brain doesn’t quite work that way. I prefer to share my life in segments, as they reveal themselves to me.

For instance, rather than writing about my time in the Army all in one post (which would be impossible); I prefer to share as things seem relevant to me or the happenings of the world around me. When the news is filled with stories about women in combat – I will write about why I like that idea or not. There is no agenda. No set topics. No limits on truth or creativity.

Just like life itself, this blog and the posts on it will be as random as I am.

So who am I? Well I’ll give you an introduction.

I am a writer. I decided to stop saying “aspiring” or “fledgling” writer because I think that sells myself short. Whether my writing is read by just me or by millions – it is still writing. I may not be a successful author yet, but I am and always have been a writer. My grammar stinks, I use profanity, and someday I hope to be able to hire an editor. Until then, you get typos and the occasional screw up between “too and to” or “effect and affect” because I write quickly and edit poorly when it comes to my own writing (I can edit your writing and find every error). I am also very liberal with punctuation rules- sometimes I annoy myself. That is okay though – don’t go all grammar crazy on me,  just realize that my writing is just like my life; always evolving.

I am an Army Veteran. I served 8 years in the Army Reserve and liked it so much that I went active duty and served 7 more years. I was stationed at Fort Drum, NY for 4 years and Vicenza, Italy for three with a couple of trips to Afghanistan. I sabotaged my military career by getting drunk and putting my Jeep in a ditch. You will read plenty about that later because it was the beginning of this journey I am now on, and I plan to share it with you here openly and honestly. Sometimes our worst moments become our greatest catapults. As they say, an arrow has to be pulled backwards in order to move forward.

I am in a relationship with an amazing woman who loves me even though I am flawed. I will write about issues that those of us in the LGBTI community face, the progress we have made, and the battles we have yet to overcome. By sharing my life, including my relationship; I hope to help educate those who don’t yet understand. If you have questions ask them. The only way we can truly move forward is to learn about one another, and accept those things that make us different. The world would be a boring place if we were all predictable and polished. Love shouldn’t be judged. It is one of the last pure things we have on this planet and I would love for us all to learn to set aside our preconceived notions, or the flawed teachings of our parents, clergy, or anyone else in order to embrace our divine humanness. We are one. We are connected.

Politically, I don’t fit into a category. I am a registered Democrat, but that is only so I can participate in the primaries. I vote according to who I think will do the least amount of damage. I have a pretty dismal outlook on our political system right now (as do the majority of the rest of you by the latest approval ratings). I am a progressive, liberal, humanist I guess.

Spiritually I am open. I spent my time with religion (Baptist) and I have studied many others. I am interested in and respect all of them because I think they all contain something that someone needs. When I was in HS and on a horrible path; going to that crazy Baptist church probably saved me from a lifetime in jail. It served it’s purpose and now I have moved on because I think faith is more than bible stories and dead prophets. Religion keeps us stuck in the past, and I choose to look forward. So I have no religion; just faith that the universe will provide me with everything I need (including things to believe in).

I struggle with addiction and recently had some life altering realizations that almost landed me in rehab for alcohol abuse. I am an alcoholic from birth, and my life choices encouraged it. I am now consciously living my life, and alcohol no longer has a place in it. As this is my latest struggle; addiction and recovery will probably be a recurring topic. As of today I have been sober for 17 days.

I am fascinated by science, geology, physics, quantum theories, and space. I don’t understand it all, but I LOVE learning and that is what is currently holding my interest.

I would like to invite you all to follow me on Facebook and Twitter! You can “follow” or “friend” me and share in all the random crap I do via Social Media. Be warned; I post a lot. Some of it is inspiring. Some of it is just stuff I find hilarious. I can be irreverent and offensive, kind and compassionate, sad or happy… you know, just like anyone else. 

So there it is, a slight introduction and a little about what to expect to see here. There is more obviously, but I have to finish figuring out how I want this blog to look and feel.

Welcome to the adventure.

11 thoughts on “Welcome to my life”

  1. Love this. “I am a writer. I decided to stop saying “aspiring” or “fledgling” writer because I think that sells myself short. ”
    Beautiful post and like the perspective, and I think once one starts just doing them and making themselves happy that that’s when growth happens. Can’t wait to see what else ya put out.

  2. Already, I adore your blog. Your writing tone appealed to me straight away and you obviously know how to captivate an audience.

    Although I am but a teenager, I can already spot things you and I have in common. For me, I am sure your blog shall become a huge source of inspiration for my daily life.

    I cannot wait to read more about your life – good luck on your blogging adventure! A new follower here!

    1. Ha! Thank you for your confidence! I will say you’re the most well spoken teenager I’ve seen on the Internet in a LONG time – so thanks for that! Thanks for following and hopefully I won’t be too bad of an influence on you. 😉

      1. Thank you, ahaa! :’) I am a writer and so being well spoken is something that I value. I cannot be doing with poor grammar or ‘text speak’, particularly when speaking to my elders. I feel that it is at the height of disrespect and completely unnecessary to do so.

        Ahaa, I’m quite sure you won’t be. ;D

    1. LOL I wasn’t planning on being gone too long! Thank you for the acknowledgement. It is one thing when I call myself a writer, quite another as a compliment from one who reads my rants and thoughts. Thank you again. Namaste.

    1. Yes! As much as we can expand who we are with language; it can just as easily daunt us. The language between “aspiring” writer and writer, is only in my head. I had to ditch it so I can allow myself to truly be who I desire to be. 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on tolerantpeople and commented:

    Hey everyone! Just wanted to let everyone know that the new blog is up and running. I still have some adjustments to do (technical stuff), but the writing is happening and I am pleased about it! So if you have been following me here; come follow me on the new blog, “Titles are Hard.”

Leave a Reply

